DAY 27: WRITE ABOUT SOMEONE YOU HELPED THIS MONTH. HOW DID IT MAKE ME FEEL?

This is a perfect prompt for today. I’m two behind, but that’s okay. I’ll write it now and post it in order after the last two. Yeah, I did get to help someone this month. I took someone to my Pastor so he could explain the gospel to her. And today I helped that same person to carve a pumpkin. Could have done other things both times, but I chose this and I’ll tell you, it was the better choice. The other things I could have been doing? They are still there, but they are not as critical as this was. Helping someone is investing. Like putting money in the bank. It will return in ways I don’t even know. It will return to her in ways that will bless her even more. And isn’t that really what it’s all about? All this other stuff we think we need to do is trivial. It is people who matter, not things. The list is getting worked on little by little, and even that has been a huge plus in my life, but none of those accomplishments make me feel like helping someone does. Carving a pumpkin, not a huge thing, but thinking of carving through the outside to let light in and then to let light out that is so much brighter and lights up the night…now that is a picture of investing in someone. Jesus wants me to share the light I have which is Him so that it will penetrate through the core and then as He works in that life and the Holy Spirit is welcomed in, then that light is let out towards others.

Leave a Reply

