DAY 25: THOUGHTS ON SIMPLICITY

In my family we have a genetic condition called blephrospasms. It is an eye condition and affects the way the brain controls the blinking of our eyes. It varies in each one of us. Mom used to twitch, My eldest brother has always blinked very rapidly and my sister needs treatments to keep her eyelids from closing completely. In the past couple of years I have developed some rapid blinking and notice it mostly under stressful conditions. It is very exhausting to my eyes and tends to cause disorientation in my brain. On top of being dyslexic and having ADD, the overwhelming amount of tasks and responsibilities of every day life are anything but simple. To experience simple I find I have to plan it, orchestrating on purpose a structured, laid out plan for each day. Do I do that?? You can guess, NO. Life happens too fast and distractions and interruptions come continually.

“It is said that the eye muscle is the fastest reacting muscle of the whole body, contracting in less than 1/100th of a second. The eye muscles work together to carry out no less than seven coordinated movements and allow the eye to track many different kinds of moving objects” (the web). Mt. 11:30 “Come unto me for my yoke is easy and my burden is light”. This is what Jesus said. He knows we were not designed to mentally keep up with what the eye takes in. We get burdened. I know all the responsibilities that I have are to be given over to Him if I am to experience any form of simplicity. Simple to me would be having everything prioritized and in order and knowing I could accomplish these things daily and not always having to catch up. Simple to me would be not being overwhelmed with life’s happenings and living in faith no matter what happened. My eyes are taking in multiple things at once. Add my blinking disorder to that and no, I don’t experience that simplicity.

Leave a Reply

